Personal tools
Sections

LED kitchen lighting –My experience.

by Mike Springer last modified Aug 16, 2013 12:30 AM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)
Click to change your rating: (not rated)
  worthless bad average good great

LED kitchen lighting –My experience.

Posted by Mike Springer at January 24. 2007

I'm a kitchen designer in St. Louis. We are doing a new display in our showroom and in an effort to showcase the "latest and greatest" we are using LED lighting in one area of the display.

We made calls to all of the lighting suppliers in St. Louis looking for a lighting showroom with LED lights. All were aware of LED but had none on display and had not sold any for residential use.

So we went to the internet and bought fixtures without knowing how they would perform. I needed under cabinet lights and puck lights that would be in view.

For the "UCL's" we went with the cyberlux company "Pro HB" fixtures. I am very impressed by them.  Each is 32" long and is similar in output to flo's or zenon lighting. The bad thing is the cost. $400+ Yikes!!!

For the pucks we went with a second company. Two pucks and transformer was $95. they are 1 watt 20 lumens. They don't put out much light and will are returning them.

We may use 3 watt pucks from aemricanlighting.com. We are waiting on pricing.

Verdict??...... not worth the cost. The savings in energy used is  not worth the trouble. Emagine lighting an entire home in LED at these costs. The price will come down with time but for now its a high end product for people with deep pockets.

Zenon is the most popular lighting used in kitchens now. It runs cooler that halogen and the bulbs last longer. The cost for a 30" fixture with bulbs is around $70 and pucks are about $100 for 3 pucks and 1 transformer.

Re: LED kitchen lighting –My experience.

Posted by Splatgirl at January 24. 2007