Personal tools
Sections

Looking for sustainable/green translucent panel options and frame/mounting system?

by California Dreaming last modified Aug 13, 2009 04:36 PM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)

Looking for sustainable/green translucent panel options and frame/mounting system?

Posted by California Dreaming at February 10. 2009

Hello -

I am a designer and I am working on small commercial T.I. that is aiming to be LEED certified. I am wanting to design the interior office partition walls so that they are not drywall but rather a translucent material that will emit light. They need to be floor to ceiling and they are 9' ceilings. My first thought would be a polycarbonate like Thermoclear, etc. over a metal stud wall but unfortunately that's a toxic material. I'm aware of 3-form's Varia line but was wondering if anyone knows of any other options/ideas? I also need to design a way to mount these panels, whether it's metal studs or something  that a manufacturer provides, i.e. frame system. Overall I'm going for a very 'light' feel so the less materials the better. Any help is greatly appreciated. Hopefully these images from Panelite help give an idea...thanks so much.

Attachments

Re: Looking for sustainable/green translucent panel options and frame/mounting system?

Posted by Karl Mead at February 10. 2009

You might look at:

http://www.3-form.com/about-path_to_zero-usgbc_leed.php

Hope that helps. 

Karl Mead

Previously California Dreaming wrote:

Hello -