Personal tools
Sections

Thinking PreFab

by Jason Butka last modified May 08, 2006 04:44 PM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)

Thinking PreFab

Posted by Jason Butka at April 16. 2006

I have looked at architects and they want 30% of the total house costs (not counting the extra 15-20% the builder wants) to design a home. That means I would pay about 50% over the actual value of the home.

I have tried Residential Designers but the ones local to me in Michigan are scam artists! They draw a house plan worse than I could and I have NO experience doing it. Builders laugh at the child-like designes these people make.

Builders also tell me that even if I did have a design, the type of work that goes into the these custom designs warrant a cost of at least 225/sq ft but most likely much higher. These are trusted builders whom I have contact with through family and friends in construction so I do trust what they say.

As much as I wanted to design my own home I am beginning to come around to the prefab world. The FlatPak is a nice design but I do have some concerns. Anyone have any ideas on other companies to research (no lami-designs thanks :disgust:).

I live in Michigan, so I am concerned about the elements.

Re: Thinking PreFab

Posted by Dan Semar at April 16. 2006

Have you checked out www.fabprefab.com

Posted by Mark Meyer at April 16. 2006

I don't know what kind of architects or residential designers that you are talking to, but clearly you are talking to the wrong people (builders included.) To my knowledge, architects don't charge 30% of construction budget. Lake/Flato charge a whopping 25%, but they are an exception, as they provide extensive construction supervision, as well as detail every last thing that goes into the house. I think that you'd find most architects in the 10-12% range, and residential designers (such as myself) in the 8-10% range (depending on services).