Personal tools
Sections

Prefab in SoCal: Do I need a reality check?

by hunter cereal last modified Feb 15, 2007 10:05 PM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)

Prefab in SoCal: Do I need a reality check?

Posted by hunter cereal at February 06. 2007
My husband and I latched onto the concept of prefab several years ago, but it was not an option at the time because of cost, the lack of real models and our location (Chicago). We have since moved to the Los Angeles area and are once again looking into the possibility of building a modernist prefab home. I have fallen deeply in love with the Ray Kappe Living Home and am hoping I can find some way to make this (or similar) 2,000 + sq ft home a reality. Our budget maxes out at 1 million, including land & all fees. I can get an estimate of how much a prefab will cost plus some ballpark figures on permits, foundation, etc., but what I don't know is where to build and how to find the land. Since I am new to SoCal, the only place I've really looked into is the South Bay / Redondo Beach. It seems that there aren't many vacant lots or teardowns available, so it's difficult to figure out what land would cost. Since I work in Culver City and my husband works in downtown Long Beach, we are restricted to areas between the two. My requirements are that the area should be on the rise (at my budget I need a good value) and that the neighborhood would be eclectic enough to accomodate such a home. I'd like to know if my goals are within reach. Can one find a large, flat parcel of land in SoCal in a nice area for under 500k?

Re: Prefab in SoCal: Do I need a reality check?

Posted by Splatgirl at February 06. 2007