Personal tools

Modern History--Preservation

by Susan McElroy last modified Sep 11, 2005 01:42 PM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)

Modern History--Preservation

Posted by Susan McElroy at September 02. 2005

This is a kind of continuation of the topic on one less modernist... earlier, but I wanted to change the focus just a bit from outrage to a sense of what can or should be done about those MCM's that still exist and why the issue of preserving them might be so complex. As I've said before, I'm not a professional, just a consumer interested in the topic because I happen to co-own one of these places like a some other folks on this list. The questions are different from those who want to build new modern houses.

First, here's a link to a letter to the editor about the recent Austin house that was destroyed; I think it's telling because it relays what can be the biggest tragedy of riches for these centrally located, landscape-rich places: too much money:

It must be really hard for somebody with a very hefty mortgage on a small, quirky MCM to not fall victim to the predatory buyer with an eye towards upsizing/maximizing profitability when the RE market is on fire. These houses were built for families with a lifestyle relevant to a different time--the kind of family that wants this kind of simpler life is not likely to be able to afford the mega-payments that (it seems) resulted from the bidding war that took place over the Meredith house.