Personal tools
Sections

newbie here w/a few questions

by tom mot last modified Feb 24, 2005 03:45 PM
Editorial Rating: 1 2 3 4 5
Average Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 ( 0 votes)

newbie here w/a few questions

Posted by tom mot at January 16. 2005

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I must say there seems to be a wonderful community here. Well, on with my questions:

My wife and I plan to purchase our first home two years from now, and we'd really love to be able to go modern if possible. We spent a year in the Bay Area 6 years ago and fell in love with the contemporary, loft-style housing out there. We'd spend weekends just driving around to open houses, mouths agape at the incredibly cool designs (and incredibly high price tags). And as much as we love the look, we've always thought that these types of residences were, and would always be, out of our price range, as our combined income is pretty low (50-60k). But I'm starting to wonder if we might be wrong about that, and that we might actually have a shot at our dream home, which is why I'm here. I've got a ton of questions, but will start off with a few that I hope you guys might be able to help with:

1. My main question is cost, which I know is very subjective, but hopefully I can get a ballpark general idea. Basically I'd like to determine if it's feasible to have a small (1000-1400 sq ft), one or two story, modern home built anywhere in Austin for 125k or less for the whole shebang. This total would include land and all construction and finishing. I have no contracting knowledge, so aside from painting and very basic diy work (that I could teach myself from a book) I wouldn't be able to do much of the labor myself.