Pre-Season Tours Of The Taliesin Estate
Average Rating: ( 0 votes)
With the arrival of spring, the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center will re-open its doors, welcoming the public to Frank Lloyd Wright’s private 600-acre estate, Taliesin. These pre-season tours, which begin on Saturday, April 6 and continue each weekend through the month, offer guests a unique overview of the serene valley that the renowned architect explored in his youth and to which he would return as an adult in order to build his home, Taliesin....
The pre-season tour format consists of the Shuttle/Walking Tour. This exclusively exterior tour lasts two hours and begins at the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center. The first hour of the tour is a passage through the Taliesin estate by shuttle bus. While riding past selected Wright-designed structures, including Unity Chapel (1886), Hillside Home School (1902), Romeo and Juliet Windmill (1896), Tan-y-deri (1906), Midway Farm (1932-1949), and Taliesin (1911), visitors will be given both historical and architectural interpretations. The second hour is an intimate walking tour through Taliesin’s upper and lower courtyards, orchard, and water garden, concluding with a special walk-through of Frank Lloyd Wright’s recently restored personal studio. The Shuttle/Walking Tour presents visitors with a unique perspective of the value and depth of Wright’s life and architecture in the context of the picturesque valley of his ancestors which inspired his immense body of work.
The Shuttle/Walking Tour is scheduled on Saturdays and Sundays in April at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. The cost is $20 for adults and $10 for children under the age of 12. Reservations are highly recommended. Walk-ins are accepted, space permitted. All tours are weather-dependent. For reservations or more information, please call the Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor center toll-free at 877-588-7900, or visit the website at taliesinpreservation.org.